About the courts

In Iceland are three judicial levels.


District courts

There are eight district courts. Together they form the lowest judicial level.

»District courts


Landsréttur Appeal Court

Landsréttur is the mid-judicial level and is a court of appeal.

»Landsréttur Appeal Court


The Supreme Court of Iceland

The Supreme Court is the highest judicial power, and its decisions set precedents.

»The Supreme Court of Iceland


»Fyrirvari um birtingar efnis á heimasíðu dómstólasýslunnar